TO BUILD A FIRE a film by Fx Goby In the harshness of midwinter, a trapper is crossing the Yukon with his dog. Struggling to survive, he attempts to build a simple fire. To Build a Fire is widely recognised as a Jack London masterpiece and is a classic of American literature. Based on the short story by Jack London “To Build A Fire” is this week’s Staff Pick Premiere! Read more about it here: Directed by Fx Goby A Composite Films production Executive producer Samuel François-Steininger Line producer Marie Corberand In coproduction with Nexus Productions Charlotte Bavasso Chris O’Reilly Fx Goby Films & Pictures Carabine Productions Christel Delahaye Lead animator Christian Boving-Andersen Animation Paul Dabout Martin Hurmane Leni Marotte Juliette Peuportier Landariu Tinubu Sidonie Vidal Emmanuelle Walker 2D FX animation Matt Timms Animatic Fabrice Fiteni Art director Tristan Ménard Background artists Antoine Birot Linus Carlson Damien Colbolchevik Joe Dennis Tonet Dura Guitty Mojabi Visual Researches Colin Bigelow Fx Goby Oren Haskins Hélène Leroux Thomas Roisland Tristan Menard Guitty Mojabi Marthe Strand Mourier Marie Thorhauge Clean up production supervisors David Blanche Jessica Lewis Clean up artists Rosie Andrews Rosie Baker Joshua Barlow Danielle Bethel Lena Blaschek Kasia Brzezińska Georgina Cook Mohamed Fadera Leila Foong Rhian Jones Tom Legg Jessica Maple Leni Marotte Sara Moon Lewis Nash Toby Parry Juliette Peuportier Jamie-Lee Reynolds Andy Stevens Marthe Strand Mourier Joe Strange Riu Niyi Tinubu Adam Malcom Waters 3D modelers Dorianne Fibleuil Michal Firkowski 3D rig Pete Addington Compositing Abel Kohen Fx Goby Quentin Pointillart Alexia Provoost Editing Fx Goby Narrated by Tony Fish Original music Mathieu Alvado Composed and recorded with the support of the SACEM in association with ALCIMÉ (Aubagne International Film Festival) Performed by Members of the LONDON SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA Conductor Mathieu Alvado Orchestra manager Sue Mallet Recorded at AIR Studios Sound engineer Geoff Foster Pro Tools Assistant Tom Bailey Preparation Pro Tools session David Menke Copyist Norbert Vergonjanne Music mixing Samy Cheboub Sound post-production FONIC Sound supervisors Jake Roberts Barnaby Templer Sound design and mix Barnaby Templer Sound effects editing and recording Chris Swaine Foley artist Sue Harding Sound engineer voice JM Finch Editor voice Marty O’Brien Colour grading Jack McGinity / Time Based Arts Administration ACC Caroline Garmirian Christophe Sanlaville Communication Benoît Berthe Élodie Moïsa Emmanuelle Rodeghiero Marine Wong Kwok Chuen Community Manager Alexander Lawrence Genevieve Stow Interns Chloé Mazzani Robin Soulisse Camille Jacques Acknowledgements to all the backers of our Indiegogo corwdfunding and in particular: James Allen et Mike Skrgatic, Charlotte Bavasso, Paolo Polesello, Hélène Béjat, Benoît Berthe, Celyn Brazier, Patricia Claire, Xavier Egurbide, Angela Kaper, Brendan McCann, Scott Dresden, Sébastien Fournier, Philippe François-Steininger, Emilie et Jean-Sébastien Michelet, Nathalie François, Miguel Sanz, Renaud Futterer, Dominique Goby, Julien Goby, Vincent Guy, Paulette Hawkins, Jean-Marie Keene, Hélène Leroux, Tristan Ménard, Chris O’Reilly, Paolo Polesello, Janet Smith, Paul Tempelman, François Turquety, James Tomkinson, Samuel Colin, Emmanuel Tenenbaum, Nathan Goldenberg, Etienne Semelet Acknowledgements to our sponsors Light My Fire® – Christian Ludwig Katadyn® – Steven Le Guellec Leatherman® – Roger Bjorklund & Julie Knapp A.R.T. SURVIE & Théo The director wishes to thank the artists involved in this film, their artistic contributions, the time and energy they spent on this project, from several hours to several months, has been both fundamental and remarkable. Christophe Taudière Arts university Bournemouth Paul, Ward & Peter Symons Natalie Busutil, Jo Bierton, Julia Parfitt, Luke Youngman Pôle Pixel et Rhône Alpes Cinéma Marie Le Gac, Grégory Faes, Emmanuel Bernard, Sébastien Thomas, Lauriane Mégny Lumières Numériques Pierre-Loic Précausta, Camille Geoffray Les Gobelins Moira Marguin & Aida Del solar, Sophie Lascoux, Valentine, Julien & Dominique Goby Hélène & Jean-Louis Rodeghiero Catherine & François Corberand, Cécile Nédélec, Claire Ageneau Saul Nash With the participation of France Télévisions Head of Acquisitions – Short Film Programming Christophe Taudière International distribution France Télévisions Distribution